Scottish National Short Course XC Champs

The Bella men's team finished in eighteenth spot and the women in sixteenth at the Scottish National Short Course Championships over four kilometres. This year's race moved to King George V Playing Fields in Renfrew having been held in Bellahouston Park for many years.

In a women's race dominated by Rio Olympian Laura Muir, Lynne McDowall was the first Harrier home, nicking inside the top 100 by four places. Lynne was backed up well by Janine Dickie and Ann Knox in 116th and 117th place with Claire Norman the team's fourth counter, twenty seconds further back.

A further six Harriers competed in the women's race with Emily Jackson and Suzanne Boyle separated by fourteen seconds and Michelle O'Shea and Deirdre Hoyle crossing the line four seconds apart.

Fifteen Bella men competed in the men's race which took in two, flat laps of the playing fields. Crispin Walsh was the first Harrier home in a time of 13:45 for 84th place and second V40. Darren McQuade was 125th while David Mackintosh overhauled Fraser Armstrong late in the race to edge him by three seconds.

Paul Clawson got the better of Tom Smith and John Whitener by one and three seconds respectively as all three dipped under fifteen minutes. Francis Gilroy and Iain Morrison were also invovled in a close battle with a single second separating them at the line.

Full results can be found here. Photos by Bobby Gavin can be found here. Main photo by Emily Jackson.

Interested in Joining?

Bellahouston Harriers are an amateur running club based on the south side of Glasgow.

Our friendly atmosphere and great coaching make us a great choice if you are looking to start running for a club or if you have run with a club before.

Click here to find out more...

Twitter Feed