Renfrewshire Cross Country Relay Championships

The Bella men narrowly missed out on a medal in a last lap battle at the 2016-17 Renfrewshire Cross Country Relay Championships in Bellahouston Park.

The women's side finished in eighth position with twenty-eight Harriers competing on the day.

The first Harrier competing on the day was Cara Wotherspoon in the girls under 15s race. Cara acquitted herself well, running 12:58 for the 2.6 kilometre course.

The senior races for the men and women were run concurrently with the men's team running four laps and the women three laps of the 4k circuit.

The men's A team had only one change from last week's West Districts with Jack Heathwood replacing the absent Stuart Miller. Crispin Walsh opened up on the competitive first leg, bringing the team back in fourth place in what would be the tenth fastest time of the day. Gregor pressed ahead from there, overhauling Kilbarchan's second leg runner to take the team into a medal position. Jack Heathwood maintained that position before handing over to Darren McQuade for the anchor leg. Darren was unfortunately unable to hold off the charge on the last leg as Inverclyde B's last leg runner blazed through to seal third place.

The B team's race played out in a similar manner to last week with three of the runners tightly bunched across a ten second spread. Paul Clawson, on the last leg again, overturned the gap to David Mackintosh, reversing an nine second deficit last week to a three second victory this time.

Mark Porter was the opening leg runner for the men's C team on his cross country debut with Graeme Gemmell, Paul Houston, and John Cunningham backing him on their cross country season openers.

The D team was incomplete with Francis Gilroy on the opening leg and John Beckett and Robert Carson legs two and three.

Four complete women's sides of three runners each were fielded. Janine Dickie was on the opening lef for the A team, running the fast time of the day by a Harrier, before passing onto Emily Jackson and Suzanne Boyle. The team finished in eighth position.

The women's B team consisted of Rebecca Simister, Stephanie Baird and Christine McKay combined well to secure a top 10 position.

Gael McCallum had the fastest time for the C team, gaining a place on the last leg, while Deirdre Hoyle's opening leg on the D team was their fastest.

Full results can be found here.

Women's A Team - 8th place - 57:56

  • Janine Dickie - 18:52
  • Emily Jackson - 19:23
  • Suzanne Boyle - 19:41

Women's B Team - 10th place - 63:04

  • Rebecca Simister - 21:12
  • Stephanie Baird - 20:27
  • Christine McKay - 21:25

Women's C Team - 12th place - 65:22

  • Claire Fitzsimmons - 21:29
  • Michelle O'Shea - 22:44
  • Gael McCallum - 21:09

Women's D Team - 14th place - 68:00

  • Deirdre Hoyle - 22:32
  • Stella McCulloch - 22:53
  • Jennifer Tait - 23:35

Men's A Team - 4th place - 57:10

  • Cris Walsh - 14:10
  • Gregor Yates - 13:53
  • Jack Heathwood - 14:14
  • Darren McQuade - 14:53

Men's B Team - 11th place - 62:35

  • David Mackintosh - 15:24
  • Calum Ferguson - 16:19
  • Fraser Armstrong - 15:31
  • Paul Clawson - 15:21

Men's C Team - 18th place - 70:24

  • Mark Porter - 16:14
  • Graeme Gemmell - 17:07
  • Paul Houston - 17:23
  • John Cunningham - 19:40

Men's D Team - incomplete

  • Francis Gilroy - 16:16
  • John Beckett - 20:21
  • Robert Carson - 19:51

Interested in Joining?

Bellahouston Harriers are an amateur running club based on the south side of Glasgow.

Our friendly atmosphere and great coaching make us a great choice if you are looking to start running for a club or if you have run with a club before.

Click here to find out more...

Twitter Feed